The Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria, MARAN,  is set to highlights the maritime industry for more than  its 34 Years of robust reportage of the maritime industry  in  November 28th 2022 in Lagos.

MARAN is an affiliate of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ.

MARAN, the foremost maritime media association was formed in November 1988, it has remained the umbrella body of all journalists posted to cover or report the activities of the nation's shipping and other related business in the industry.

In a press release issued  by the  Chairman Planning Committee of MARAN 34th Anniversary and Awards, Mr Dapo Olawuni, said MARAN has lined up activities to celebrate this landmark event, this includes the conferment of Awards of Excellence on some notable corporate bodies and individuals who have greatly impacted positively on the growth and development of the maritime industry.


Olawuni said the theme for the anniversary is tagged; 16-YEARS OF PORT CONCESSION: THE PAINS AND THE GAINS

He stated that the association has penciled down  critical stakeholders and speakers who would x-ray the 16 years of Port Concession era in Nigeria and proffer the way forward for the country.

Among stakeholders expected to grace the occasion are; Minister of Transportation Eng Muazu Jaji Sambo, Former Chairman of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) Chief Adebayo Sarumi, Chairman of Integrated Oil and Gas, Capt Emmanuel Iheanacho, Chairman of SIFAX Group, Barr Taiwo Afolabi, Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) Muhammed Bello-Koko and the Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency,  NIMASA.

Others are; former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents, ANLCA, Prince Olayiwola Shittu, Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service, Col Hameed Ali, Chairman of National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) Buba Marwa, the Iyalaje Kano, Hajia Bola Muse, Mrs Jean Chiazor Anishere, SAN, among others.

Olawuni  disclosed that the  Award/Gala night is slated for 28th November 2022 at the prestigious Sheraton hotel, Ikeja Lagos.

"it is instructive to note that MARAN Awards come once in a decade as the last edition was held in December 2013.

"The association was deliberate in making the Anniversary and Award ceremony a decade -long one to infuse integrity and  nobility into the Awards, a radical departure from others.

"The association plans to draw the attention of the Federal Government on the need to further review the port concession era, and to examine the opportunities posed by the building of new ports, especially the much celebrated Lekki Deep Seaport.

Post a Comment

Sorry we need to know that you are not a robot.

Previous Post Next Post